The Business Travel Breakdown

By John Busby, SVP of the Marchex Institute

travel planeAt Marchex, we believe that human connections build relationships and businesses.  For those of us that work directly with our partners and clients, this equates to business travel.  So on the heels of our report last week about mobile phones and the modern traveler, I asked a few of my colleagues for their business travel tips.

What is your indispensable Item for business trips? – Answers varied from reading material (“the Economist”) to Purell (“to wipe down everything”) to renting a garish sports car (orange Camaro, anyone?).  My indispensable item is earplugs to drown out the city sounds if I’m stuck in a noisy room.

Window or Aisle? – Most of my colleagues prefer an aisle for additional room.  I prefer the window seat so I can keep the window shut to cut down on screen glare.

How do you fight jetlag? – Marchex is based in Seattle, but most media dollars are spent in Chicago or New York.  How do we cope with the jetlag of cross-country trips?  We pack running shoes and drink tons of water.  Getting a sweat in, and then rehydrating, is probably the best way we know of to reset the body clock.

When do we make phone calls? – Our aforementioned study highlighted when travelers prefer to make a phone call over booking online so I asked my colleagues the same question, and here is what they had to say:

“I call when making a family vacation to an unfamiliar place.”

“I call for complex flight plans, like multi-city trips.”

“I’m picky about my hotel room, and want to speak with someone directly.”

“I always call for business travel and when rescheduling a trip.”

So there you have it!  See you on a plane sometime soon…

johnwordpress (3)    -John

Marchex is a mobile advertising technology company. We provide a suite of products for businesses that depend on consumer phone calls to drive sales. Our mobile advertising platform delivers new customer phone calls to businesses, while our technology analyzes the data in these calls to improve ad campaign results.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Travel

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Archives
Follow us on Twitter
